Swine Flu and HPP - Testing will be needed

General slalom chatter...rant about the bad, rave about the good
katonas

Post by katonas » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:05 pm

If swine flu becomes more widespread, it might be as easy to catch swine flu from HPP water as viral gastroenteritis. It might be more likely (exposure to mucous membranes of nose, rather than ingestion required). PCR testing of the water would be advisable to assess the risk to paddlers - the centre could probably contact public health to arrange testing. :(

katonas

Post by katonas » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:52 pm

Correction : It'll be months before a PCR test is available (if at all), and a negative test wouldn't be a guarantee of safety.

Does anyone know about influenza survival times in water ?

This paper suggests it might be 30-600 days
http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/es900370x

80-1219672301

Post by 80-1219672301 » Fri May 01, 2009 12:06 pm

Firstly let me state up front - I am NO EXPERT - I have NO qualifications in this area whatsoever - however I can differentiate between popular sensationalism and serious articles in the press.

There are many accredited articles in the press and on-line that state categorically that swine flu is passed human to human - NOT through food etc.

This is from the Havard Medical School:

"the new swine flu virus can be transmitted between humans. It is not clear yet how easily it is transmitted, nor how it is transmitted. Almost surely it is transmitted by sneezing and coughing, and by skin-to-skin contact (like shaking hands or kissing) with an infected person."

So the order of the day is - WASH YOUR HANDS AND USE TISSUES.

The only difficulty I foresee with having paddled at HPP is possibly the confusion with symptoms

# Shortness of breath

# Persistent vomiting

# Confusion

# Dizziness

Certainly a couple of these you can expect as the norm after paddling the TRENT :)